Plenary Indulgences 2013

logo year of faith

At St Peter's Church in Surry Hills, during this Holy Year of Faith,

a plenary indulgence may be gained on the following nominated days:

 

 

  • Fri 3 May (Mass at 1.05pm followed by prayers)
  • Tue 14 May (Mass at 7.30 followed by prayers)
  • Fri 24 May (Mass at 1.05 followed by prayers)
  • Tue 11 June
  • Sat 29 June
  • Wed 3 July
  • Thu 25 July
  • Tue 6 August
  • Thu 8 August
  • Thu 15 August
  • Fri 6 September
  • Sat 21 September
  • Mon 28 October
  • Sun 24 November

 

In order to gain the Indulgence, it will be necessary to do the following:

  • Spend a half an hour before the Blessed Sacrament in prayer and pious meditation (mental prayer) concluding with:
    • The Lord's Prayer (Our Father ...);
    • Recitation of a Profession of Faith (Creed - on Mass  card);
    • Invocations to the Blessed Virgin Mary (Litany of Our Lady  - on  this sheet); and
    • Invocation to the Holy Apostles and patron saints (Litany of the Saints – on this sheet).
  • Receive absolution in the Sacrament of Penance (Confession) on the same day or during the same week.
  • Receive Holy Communion during Holy Mass within a 24 hour period of the visit to St Peter's.
  • Pray for the intentions of the Supreme Pontiff (the See of St Peter) at the time of the visit.
  • Offer suffrages (prayer and/or Mass intention) for the deceased faithful (Holy Souls).

 

NOTE: A plenary (complete) indulgence (pardon) from the temporal punishments due to sin is often reduced to a partial indulgence unless the pilgrim (indulgence seeker) abhors mortal sin and is completely detached from venial sin at the time of making the visit and praying for the indulgence from Holy Mother Church's treasury of merits. Therefore, spiritual preparation for the visit is necessary

Intentions of the Supreme Pontiff (March 2013)

Respect for Nature. That respect for nature may grow with the awareness that all creation is God's work entrusted to human responsibility.
Clergy. That bishops, priests, and deacons may be tireless messengers of the Gospel to the ends of the earth. Amen.

Booklet - Plenary Indulgences 2013